Traditional beliefs of the Yukaghirs involve cults. There were cults of the tutelary deities, the supreme being Qoil' (merged with the Christian cult), game animals (especially elk), bears; cults of fire, ancestors’ spirits. They worshipped sacred stones that embodied the feminine. Later, along with the other beliefs, there were the male tutelary deities and the guardian spirits of animals, which are associated with a number of prohibitions and hunting rites.

          The Yukaghir’s idea of a human soul was rather complicated. They believed in three souls. One of these, after death, goes to the Kingdom of Shadows. Another becomes a double that only shamans can see, which, after death, inhabits a newborn. The third soul is a shadow, which is also inherent in inanimate objects.

The Yukaghir had developed concepts of the universe’s division into upper, middle and lower worlds connected by the river.  Mythological legends Nganasan are centered around the creation of the world, established according to the will of the "Mother of everything that has eyes " and "God of Earth" Syruta-ngu; their son, man-deer, becomes the first inhabitant of the Earth and protector of the people.

         Customs associated with fire played an important role in the spiritual culture of the Yukaghir: it was forbidden to share fire from the hearth with outsiders, to walk between the hearth and the head of the family, etc.

Jochelson W. The Yukaghir and Yukaghirized Tungus. - Novosibirsk: Nauka, 2005. 675 p.

Gogolev A.I. History of Yakutia - Yakutsk: NEFU Publishing House, 2013. -324 p.

Peoples of the North-East of Siberia - Moscow: Moskva: Nauka, 2010. 773 p.

NarodyArktiki 2019

Традиционные верования юкагиров - культы духов-хозяев, верховного небесного бога Хойл (слившийся с христианским культом), промысловых животных (особенно лося), медвежий культ, культ огня, духов предков. Они поклонялись священным камням, персонифицировавшим женское начало. Позднее наряду с ними появились духи-хозяева мужского пола и духи-покровители животных, с которыми связан ряд запретов и охотничьих обрядов.

           Довольно сложным было у юкагиров представления о душе человека. Они верили в триединость души. Одна из них после смерти отправлялась в мир мертвых. Другая имеет вид двойника, которого могут видеть только шаманы, и которая после смерти переселяется в новорожденного ребенка. Третья душа-тень, которая свойственна также неодушевленным предметам.

           У юкагиров были развиты представления о делении вселенной на верхний, средний и нижний миры, соединённые рекой.  Мифологические предания нганасан повествуют о создании мира, возникшего по воле «Матери всего, имеющего глаза» и «Бога земли» Сырута-нгу, сын которых — человек-олень — становится первым обитателем земли и покровителем людей.

Большую роль в духовной культуре юкагиров играли обычаи, связанные с огнём: запрещалось передавать посторонним огонь из очага, проходить между очагом и главой семьи и т.п. 

Источники:

Иохельсон В.И.  Юкагиры и юкагиризированные тунгусы. – Новосибирск: Наука, 2005. 675 с.

Иохельсон В.И.  По рекам Ясачной и Коркодону. Древний и современный юкагирский быт и письмена. Сиб., 1898

Юкагиры. Историко-этнографический очерк. Новосибирск, 1975

Народы Северо-Востокка Сибири -- М.: Наука, 2010. 773 с.

NarodyArktiki 2019