In the XVII century, the Yukaghirs lived in tribes. A man closest to the founder of a tribe was at the head of a tribe. An elder of a tribe was the leader of soldiers and hunting raids, he chose fishing grounds and assigned each family a place of their own. Sometimes the elder was not the oldest person but the most capable, according to other elders.With the arrival of the Russians, the elder began to be elected for 3 years by everyone who paid tribute - . His main duty was to collect .

             The was also a so-called "strong man" or a hero of a tribe, who defended the tribe from enemy attacks. It was often a stranger, son-in-law. The Yukaghirs did not have permanent troops, therefore, all the young people knew how to shoot a bow and arrow. They were trained and taught the art of war from a young age. The Yukaghirs were considered the best warriors of Siberia and the Far East.

             A "hunter" was supposed to provide his tribe with moose or deer meat. Sometimes the same person could be both a “strong man” and a “hunter”. The “hunter” should have good lungs and stamina, as he had to be the fastest skier while hunting.

             Strife could arise among tribes because of women and blood feuds, but most of the time the Yukaghirs fought with the Tungus. The Yukaghirs had slavery, with captives usually being slaves. If a captive woman became a concubine and had children with her master, then a male slave had to do housework all his life. The Yukaghirs practiced a custom called nimat, where the hunter gave all the catch to the elders of a settlement, who then divided it among the members of a tribe.

                                                                                   The heads of the Tundra yukaghirs

Sources:

Jochelson W. The Yukaghir and Yukaghirized Tungus. - Novosibirsk: Nauka, 2005. 675 p.

NarodyArktiki 2019

В XVII веке юкагиры жили родами. Во главе рода стоял мужчина, стоявший ближе всех к основателю рода. Старейшина рода являлся руководителем военных и охотничьих походов, он выбирал рыболовные угодья и назначал каждой семье свое место. Иногда старейшиной становился не самый старый человек, а самый способный, по мнению других стариков. С приходом русских старейшина, староста стал избираться на 3 года всеми платившими ясак. Главной его обязанностью стал сбор ясака.

         В роду был также т.н. «сильный человек» или герой, который защищал род от нападения врагов. Часто это был чужак, зять. У юкагиров не было постоянного войска, поэтому все молодые люди владели луком. С юных лет их тренировали и обучали военному делу. Юкагиры считались лучшими воинами Сибири и Дальнего Востока.

        «Охотник» должен был обеспечить род мясом лося или оленя. Иногда один и тот же человек мог быть и «сильным человеком» и «охотником». Охотник должен был обладать хорошими легкими и выносливостью, т.к. ему приходилось быстрее всех бегать на лыжах во время охоты.

        Между родами могли возникать распри из-за женщин и кровной мести, но в основном юкагиры воевали с тунгусами. У юкагиров существовало рабство, рабами, обычно становились пленники. Если женщина пленница вскоре становилась наложницей и рожала от хозяина детей, то мужчина – раб всю жизнь должен был выполнять домашнюю работу. Юкагиры соблюдали обычай нимат – охотник всю добычу отдавал старикам стойбища, которые распределяли ее между членами рода.

                                                                                  Вожди тундровых юкагиров

Источники:

Иохельсон В.И.  Юкагиры и юкагиризированные тунгусы. – Новосибирск: Наука, 2005. 675 с.

NarodyArktiki 2019