By the type of settlement, the Yukaghirs were divided into the Tundra and Taiga types. The main traditional occupation of the Tundra Yukaghirs was semi-nomadic and nomadic wild deer hunting and transport reindeer herding. And the Taiga Yukaghirs hunted moose, deer and mountain sheep, they also developed lake and riverine fishing.

             The Taiga Yukaghirs from Verkhnekolymsk organized collective hunting raids on wild deer in the spring, using specially trained dogs. They chased the deer on sleds in the winter and hunted using domesticated deer as bait in the autumn. In addition to guns, the Yukaghirs continued to use their ancient weapons: a metal dart and bolas, a throwing weapon, consisting of cords with weights on the ends.             

            Bird hunting played a significant role. The Tundra Yukaghirs hunted geese and duck at the shores of lakes during a molting period in the autumn. The participants of the hunt were divided into two groups: one surrounded the lake with fishing nets, and the other, sitting in boats, cornered the birds deprived of the opportunity to fly into the fishing nets. The Tundra Yukaghirs hunted foxes and Arctic foxes, catching up to them on a deer sled. They tore apart Arctic foxes’ holes and acquired the puppies in the summer. Verkhnekolymsk people hunted stoats and squirrels, who were beaten with blunt arrows.           

            The Yukaghirs were engaged in fishing from late spring to autumn, while using hair nets to catch perch, nelma, broad whitefish, omul, muksun. They would get the fish with hooks on the spawning grounds. In the mountain rivers They put fences and bow nets woven from willow in the river mountains. In October-November, when fishing from the ice hole, hair nets were used.

            The Tundra Yukaghirs began to spread reindeer herding around the XVI century. Reindeer herding played a role of a transport. The number of deer were small: from 2-3 to 10-20. But the rich Yukaghirs could own up to 1000 deer.

Sources:

Jochelson W. The Yukaghir and Yukaghirized Tungus. - Novosibirsk: Nauka, 2005. 675 p.

Gogolev A.I. History of Yakutia - Yakutsk: NEFU Publishing House, 2013. -324 p.

Peoples of the North-East of Siberia - Moscow: Moskva: Nauka, 2010. 773 p.

Photo from the webpage https://ok.ru/kraterershota/topic/65539663664635

Photos from the Magadansky columnist webpage: https://magadansky.livejournal.com/114193.html

Photos from W. Jochelson’s book The Yukaghir and Yukaghirized Tungus. - Novosibirsk: Nauka, 2005. 675 p.

NarodyArktiki 2019

По типу расселения юкагиры делились на тундровых и таежных. Основное традиционное занятие тундровых юкагиров была полукочевая и кочевая охота на дикого оленя и транспортное оленеводство. А таежные юкагиры охотились на лося, оленя и горного барана, у них также было развито озёрное и речное рыболовство.

      Верхнеколымские таёжные юкагиры весной устраивали коллективные охотничьи облавы на дикого оленя, используя специально обученных собак. Зимой преследовали оленя на нартах,  осенью охотились с помощью оленя маньщика. Кроме ружей юкагиры продолжали применять своё древнее оружие – металлический дротик и болас – метательное оружие, состоящее из ремней с шарами на концах.     

       Значительную роль играла охота на птицу. Тундровые юкагиры в осеннее время охотились по берегам озёр на гусей и уток во время линьки. Участники охоты разделялись на две группы: одна окружала озеро рыболовными сетями, а другая, сидящая в лодках, загоняла лишённых возможности летать птиц в сети. Тундровые юкагиры охотились на лисиц и песцов, настигая их на оленьей нарте. Летом они разрывали песцовые норы и добывали щенят. Верхнеколымские охотились на горностая и белку, которых, чтобы не испортить шкуру, били тупыми стрелами.   

        Рыболовством юкагиры занимались с поздней весны до осени, при этом волосяными сетями или неводом промышляли окуня, нельму, чира, омуля, муксуна. На нерестилищах рыбу добывали баграми и крючками. В горных речках ставили изгороди и верши, плетенные из тальника. В октябре-ноябре при ловле рыбы из проруби использовались волосяные сети.

    Примерно с XVI века у тундровых юкагиров стало распространяться оленеводство. Оленеводство у них играло транспортную роль. Количество оленей было небольшим: от 2-3 до 10-20. Но у богатых юкагиров могло быть и до 1000 оленей.

Источники: Иохельсон В.И. Юкагиры и юкагиризированные тунгусы. – Новосибирск: Наука, 2005. 675 с.

Гоголев А.И. История Якутии – Якутск: Издательский дом СВФУ, 2013. -324 с.

Народы Северо-Востока Сибири – М.: Москва: Наука, 2010. 773 с.

Фото из сайта https://ok.ru/kraterershota/topic/65539663664635

Фото из сайта Магаданский обозреватель https://magadansky.livejournal.com/114193.html

NarodyArktiki 2019